Chocolate Ice Cream

It’s always hot here in Saudi Arabia. What can be better than some scoops of ice cream to cool off the desert heat? I saw a recipe book from Sara Lewis titled Ice Cool which is a great guide to make ice creams and sorbet. The steps were made very clear and simple, and more importantly I found out that I didn’t need an ice cream maker to make an ice cream.

I decided to try the chocolate ice cream recipe since I have all of the ingredients, and I was too impatient that I failed my first batch. I tried again for the second time, and really followed the steps carefully. Voila… home-made ice cream does taste better 🙂 I decorated the ice cream with the gummy berries from Haribo. Aren’t they cute? Of course I prefer real fresh berries, but they are not always available and often times not affordable.

Chocolate Ice cream

Classic Dark Chocolate recipe from Ice Cool, Sara Lewis:

Serves four to six

Ingredients:

4 egg yolks

6 tbsp caster sugar

1 tsp cornflour

1 1/4 cups semi-skimmed milk (I used skimmed milk)

7 oz dark chocolate (I used Hershey’s dark chocolate chips)

1 1/4 cups whipping cream

Direction:

1. Whisk the egg yolks, sugar and cornflour in a bowl until thick and foamy.

2. Pour the milk into a saucepan, bring it just the the boil, then gradually whisk it into the yolk mixture, then gradually whisk it into the yolk mixture.

3. Return the mixture to the pan and cook over a gentle heat, stirring constantly until the custard thickens and is smooth (until it coats the back of the wooden spoon). Make sure you don’t boil it, otherwise you’ll have scrambled egg yolk like my first batch.

4. Break the chocolate into small pieces (skip it if you use chocolate chips) and stir into the hot custard until it has melted. Cover with thin film, leave to cool, and then chill.

5. Whip the cream until soft peak. Fold into the custard then pour into a freezerproof container (I used stainless-steel bowl). Freeze for 6 hours or until firm enough to scoop, beating once or twice with a fork or in a food processor.

If you have an ice cream maker, for step 5 mix the chocolate custards with the whipping cream. Churn until firm enough to scoop.

The author recommends to use good quality chocolate with at least 75% cocoa solids.

I collected a good amount of egg whites from 8 eggs since I made two batches of ice cream. I decided to make angel food cake which only requires egg whites, sugar, baking powder, salt, and cream of tartar (I substituted it with lemon juice). The cake is very moist and white like an angel 😀

The science behind egg white foam:

The reason why we need to use cream of tartar is to prevent the egg foam from collapsing quickly. Lemon juice or vinegar is used for the same purpose because it lowers the pH or increases the acidity. An alternative way to stabilize the foam is to use a copper bowl. The copper will promote the sulfur bond formation between the egg white proteins, which preventing them to react with other species. You can omit using cream of tartar or lemon juice if you use a copper bowl.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

