Almost Vegan Agar Panna Cotta with Mango Sauce

I am going to graduate soon… Counting down, it’s only about three weeks left. Lots of things are not settled yet, and I have zillions of assignments/tests although this is my last semester. Aside from those things, I need to finish my supply of goodies I brought from home soon. And one of them, as you may have guessed, is agar-agar.  It’s totally vegan because it is made of seaweed. I usually use the Indonesian brand agar-agar powder solely because I’m not familiar with other brands. To decrease the amount of my agar-agar supply, I wanted to make some puddings, and I came across a lovely panna cotta recipe using agar-agar from Camilla Saulsburry.

“Panna cotta is an Italian dessert usually made of cream, milk, sugar, and gelatin,” says Wikipedia. Camilla made her panna cotta entirely vegetarian by using agar-agar to substitute gelatin, coconut milk to substitute the cream, and soy yogurt.  Since I didn’t have any soy yogurt, I just used a regular, unsweetened yogurt. I didn’t add additional sugar, since the sauce itself will be sweet.

Agar Panna Cotta with Mango Sauce Recipe

Adapted from Camilla Saulsburry (englightenedcooking.blogspot.com)

For four servings

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cups of canned coconut milk

1/4 cup of sugar

1 cup yogurt

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tsp of agar-agar powder

Combine agar-agar powder, coconut milk, and sugar in a medium saucepan and simmer under low heat for about 8 minutes.

Whisk in yogurt and vanilla extract until smooth.

Pour into 4 individual ramekins or glasses, or a silicone muffin pan like I did.

Refrigerate for several hours or overnight.

For the mango sauce, you need:

1 large ripe mango

2 tsp of sugar

2 tsp of lime juice

Process the mango chunks, sugar, and lime juice in a blender/food processor until smooth, and refrigerate.

Since I didn’t have a blender, I decided to get Alphonso mango juice from Almarai. It’s already sweetened and thick enough for the sauce. Fast and easy 🙂

To serve:

Immerse bottom half of the ramekins in hot water for 15 seconds to help getting the panna cotta out. Invert them onto the plates. If you use a glass, you don’t need to do this. Serve it the mango sauce.

Panna Cotta in a Glass

Leave a Reply

