2010 Losers

I just finished my finals. I am done DONE! But it’s kind of sad, especially when I think about how soon I have to part with friends, the campus community, and Saudi Arabia. Saudi is a very special place where conservatism can be overwhelming, and it’s a country not just anybody could enter. Once I exit officially, everything including the residence card and the visa will be taken away. Knowing this recently made me feel grateful for the precious opportunity I had. No regrets!

This year has been a productive baking year for me, and it was all thanks to the generosity of the Saudi king by providing scholarship benefits which include an apartment with a kitchen and oven. I tried out many different things; some turned out unexpectedly good, but the others were booo! Well, isn’t making mistakes part of the learning process? ^_^

As the year 2010 comes to an end, I’d like to reflect on my biggest baking failures. I welcome the opportunity to make them again and hopefully improve 🙂

Tiramisu

My favorite tiramisu is from Bucca di Beppo. It has alternating cream and cake layers with excellent, strong complementing coffee and chocolate flavor. When I searched tiramisu recipe, I came across the Bucca di Beppo’s tiramisu recipe. Unfortunately the ingredient involves liquor, which is impossible to get here, so I gave up on that recipe. I tried other recipe and even made the lady finger cookies from scratch. The tiramisu seriously lacked of bitterness from the coffee, so it was more like a chocolate cream cake. T.T

Tiramisu

Quiche

Ha! I don’t know if it’s appropriate to call it a quiche since it didn’t have that soft, “eggy: texture in normal quiche. I attempted to be creative, but this is how my creativity turned out to be. The crust was not crispy. It even shrunk when I baked it, but I partially held my silicone mold responsible for this. I still love the bright color of bell peppers which makes this “quiche” look appetizing.

Vegetable Quiche

Mini Cheesecake

I used Hungarian cream cheese (I think that’s what it’s called) for making mini cheesecakes. They look really adorable, but they tasted horrible (eek!). The cheese was way too salty to a degree that is unbearable. Lesson learned: stick to the regular cream cheese!

Mini Cheesecake

Caramel basket

I tried to make this for decoration. I pictured that I’d put a scoop of ice cream in this caramel basket, but the shape didn’t turn out nice. I also burned my finger with hot caramel. >.< Be super careful when you handle hot liquid.

Caramel basket

Macaroon

The biggest loser of all… It’s technically challenging to make it, and you can find a lot of tips and tricks to produce perfect macaroons. All macaroons just collapsed and cracked (except one) probably because I didn’t wait long enough to get the shells hardened before baking them. You wait, macaroons! One day I’ll make you dancing with perfect feet.

Cracked Macaroon Shells

2 thoughts on “2010 Losers

Leave a Reply

