Apple Pie

It’s not fall yet (or it is in the southern part of the world ^_^ ). I made the apple pie a couple months ago back at home in Indonesia, and we only have two seasons: dry and rainy seasons.

There are a lot of advantages of having only two seasons with small temperature fluctuation along the year. For example, we don’t need heater and clothes (and maybe hair) dryer. We don’t need to change our wardrobes because we only have summer clothing. But there is nothing perfectly good in this world. After experiencing living in a four-season country, I love to see the changes happening along the year: the flowers budding, the lawn grass dying, the leaves falling, and the cold wind blowing (I’ve never lived in a snowy place :D). My favorite seasons are spring and fall because of their mild temperatures and the colorful, picturesque panorama I can enjoy at those times. But no matter what time of the year it is, there is always thing that we can appreciate. Life is good…

The apple pie I made was based on the recipe in thejoyofbaking.com. I love the recipes because they’re all tested recipes, so they’re foolproof. To make the filling, I used a combination of Granny Smith and Fuji apples (50:50). The sourness of the granny smith apples balanced out the sweetness from the sugar, which was how I imagined my filling should be. Depending on how you like your filling to be, you can use different kind of apples.

Homemade Apple Pie

Drizzling the caramelized juice

For the crust, you can always make it a day earlier. Just cover it with a plastic wrap and store it in the freezer. If you make the crust and the filling at the same time, chilling is always necessary. I think it helps with shaping/decorating the crust. Check out some ways to make your crust more attractive at marthastewart.com. I made mine lattice top. The braided one looks really cute. Next time when I make pie again, I’ll try that pattern.

I also added some crumble at the top of the pie. For the crumble, mix:1/4 cup of brown sugar + 1/4 cup of flour + 2 tbp of cold butter.

Before the bake

Bake and serve 🙂 Apple pie tastes the best when it’s still warm..

I actually had problem slicing the pie. Let’s put the presentation after the taste.

and Happy Easter!

4 thoughts on “Apple Pie

Leave a Reply

