Blueberry Muffins

It has been at least 2 years that I haven’t baked blueberry muffins myself. The reason was blueberries were very expensive in Saudi, and sometimes I found them not that fresh anymore. Every time I was thinking to make some, I just told myself to wait until I went to the States again.

Fresh Blueberries

Now I am in a short stay in the States, and berries are in season. Yay! I couldn’t wait to have fresh, warm blueberry muffins for breakfast. Unfortunately I don’t have many baking gadgets with me. I bought two ramekins from Daiso in Japantown, San Francisco (each $1.50, sweet deal!). So, I decided to just bake half of the recipe. I was going to put some crumb on the top, but then I opted for healthier option.

So, here it is a muffin loaded with blueberries 🙂

Blueberry Muffin

Blueberry Muffin Recipe

from allrecipes.com

Yield: 12 Muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 1/2 cups blueberries

For the crumbs

  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 375 F2. Mix together the flour, white and brown sugars, salt, and baking powder. Stir in oil, eggs, and milk until well blended. Gently fold in blueberries. Fill muffin tins 2/3 full, or slightly more for a larger muffin top.
  2. For the crumb topping, mix together the flour, softened butter, cinnamon, and brown sugar. Place a small amount on top of each muffin.
  3. Bake muffins in the preheated oven for 20 to 30 minutes, or until a wooden skewer pierced in the center comes out clean and dry.

Notes:

  1. I used the ramekins, and each ramekin is basically the size of two muffins. So, I had to increase the baking time to something like 40 minutes.
  2. I also reduced the amount of sugar. I forgot to how much, but something like 25% less than what is in the original recipe.
Leave a Reply

