Mango Tofu Pudding

During a trip I had to LA this summer, my family and I had a dinner in one of the restaurants in the Chinatown. We were so hungry at that time, so we just randomly picked a place. And this time, we surprisingly picked the right restaurant (and yes, we had many bad experiences before by going to random places). We got nothing to complain about: Good food, good price, and awesome dessert.

Mango tofu pudding

What I had for dessert was the mango with tofu pudding/ tofu flower (豆腐花). The tofu pudding was very soft and slightly sweetened, so I guessed they made their own tofu pudding. On the top of the pudding, there were slices of ripe and sweet mangoes, condensed milk, and tiny tapioca pearls. The dessert was served cool, and it was perfect to end a tiring day.

Since the tofu pudding seems pretty simple to make, I decided to make some myself. Tofu pudding can be found in Asian supermarkets, but I never bought any before. Maybe I am too spoiled with fresh, daily-made tofu pudding I usually have back home. I used silken tofu for the tofu pudding. They are almost the same, but tofu pudding has softer texture than that of silken tofu. I compromised by steaming the silken tofu for 5 minutes with a little bit of maple syrup since the tofu itself is bland. The pudding overall was pretty good. It could have been better if I was patient enough to let it chill longer in the fridge.

Recipe

Yield: 4-5 servings

Ingredients

  • a pack of silken tofu
  • maple syrup
  • small tapioca pearls
  • condensed milk
  • ripe mango, cut in cubes

Directions

  1. Spoon the silken tofu into the serving bowls ( I used ramekins).
  2. Add a tablespoon of maple syrup into each of the bowl.
  3. Steam the tofu for 5 minutes. Let it cool down until room temperature, and chill in the refridgerator for at least 1 hour.
  4. When you are almost ready to serve, boil the tapioca pearls until they become translucent. Use a strainer to separate the pearls from the water, and rinse them with cold water.
  5. Pour a tablespoon of condensed milk onto the tofu. Top it with some tapioca pearls and cubes of ripe mangoes. Adjust the sweetness to your liking, and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

