Sweet Corn Ice Cream Sandwich

I was asked my favorite ice cream flavor by kids at church. I once had strawberry and cheese at Tower Cafe, Sacramento. I never had that kind of flavor before, and it was surprisingly good. After that I had claimed that it was my favorite ice cream flavor. With all of the past tenses, it means that I have a change of heart (or a change of taste). Ironically, I do not have a winner of ice cream flavor at the moment. I will just flow with my mood and appetite, explore more flavors, and try making some my own.

Sweet Corn Ice Cream Sandwich

Sweet corn ice cream is one of the easiest hand-made recipes I came across, and you should really try it out yourself to prove that I’m not lying. This time I had my ice cream between slices of wheat bread. The ice cream will taste so much better with soft, white bread rather than wheat bread, but I only have wheat bread at home. Ice cream sandwich is, in fact, my favorite way of having ice cream. What is your favorite way of eating ice cream?

Recipes

from raspberricupcakes.com

Ingredients

  • 2 ears sweet corns (or canned corn, if fresh corns are not available)
  • 300 mL coconut milk
  • 250 mL water
  • 300 mL heavy cream
  • 200 mL sweetened condensed milk

 

Directions

  1. Slice the corn kernels off the cobs and place the kernels and the cobs in a sauce pan together with coconut milk and water.
  2. Bring to boil and slowly and simmer until half of the liquid is gone.
  3. Remove the cobs, and reserve 3 tbps of corn kernels to be later added into the ice cream.
  4. Place the remaining mixture in the blender/food processor, and pulse until smooth.
  5. Strain mixture to remove the lumps and chill in the refridgerator.
  6. Whipped the heavy cream until soft peaks and fold in the condensed milk.
  7. Fold in the corn-coconut milk mixture and transfer the mixture into a anti-freeze (plastic or stainless steel) container.
  8. Freeze for at least 5  hours or overnight.

For the ice cream sandwich

  1. Use a cookie cutter to shape two slices of bread. I actually used a glass to make the round shape, and cut the bread out using scissors.
  2. Add a scoop of ice cream on the top of a slice of bread and cover with the other slice.
  3. Wrap it in parchment paper and store in the freezer.
  4. When ready to serve, let it sit at room temperature for 5-10 minutes.
  5. Don’t throw away the remaining bread. You can use it to make bread pudding.
Leave a Reply

