Mung Bean Popsicles

Summer is just incomplete without something cold. Besides my frequent visits to Pinkberry (Thanks to their ‘Free Small Yogurt’ coupons!) and home-made ice cream, I made some ice pops for the first time after many years. They are so easy to make. Basically you can just freeze any juice or sugary liquid and call them ice pops. People usually made them in long, skinny plastic sleeves and sold them each for 100 Rupiahs (around USD 0.04 at that time) when I was in elementary school. So cheap, right?

Mung Bean Ice Pops

The Martha Stewart Living Everyday Food summer edition also features many ice pops recipes, but too bad I did not any copy of them. I just let the things I have in the kitchen to inspire me, and I saw mung beans and condensed milk. This time I was not in the mood to grow the sprouts from the beans (and probably I won’t do it for quite a while:). They were going to be turned into sweet ice pops to cool down the summer heat.

I did not have a recipe, and there is no need to have one. Just play with the composition of the cooked mung beans and the condensed milk to get the ice pops that will suit your taste.

Here are what I did:

  1. Boil the mung beans in water until they become very soft and small amount of water left.You can use a slow cooker or a sauce pan on medium-low heat for this. Remember not to soak the beans because in several hours they will sprout. You probably do not want to have mung bean sprout ice pops.
  2. Mix in the sweetened condensed milk.
  3. Pour into  the molds and freeze.
  4. To release the molds, run the hot water outside the molds for 2-3 seconds.
  5. They are ready to serve.

Sweet and Cool

By the way, today (August 17th) is Indonesian Independence Day. Merdeka! Happy birthday, Indonesia! I should have made something with red and white (those are the Indonesian flag colors). I actually did plan to make red and white ice pops (maybe made of raspberries and lychees), but I finally used the raspberries to make a tart, and the lychees were eaten fresh. Oh well, sekali merdeka tetap merdeka!

2 thoughts on “Mung Bean Popsicles

Leave a Reply

