Summer Memoirs

Life is full of ups and downs, and the year of 2011 may be an unforgettable year for me personally. After some time in Saudi studying, baking, and traveling, I chose to go home for good with no clear idea what I really wanted to do. Perhaps that was my first down in the beginning of the year.

A lot of good things happened too. In the spring, I was in Taiwan, studying Chinese and traveling again. Then in the summer, I got to be with my brother in the US, spent our afternoons and evenings playing Monopoly, and walked around the apartment area to throw away our trashes.

Besides, my family and I also traveled to several places in the US, such as Cape Cod, Boston, LA, and finally Sacramento. It was a lot of fun because we did a wide range of activities, from doing a Segway tour, whale watching (though the whale didn’t show up at that time, and we SERIOUSLY had seasickness), and riding the Jurassic Park at Universal Studio.

I also spent some of my time cooking and baking at that time. I’m glad that I did because I don’t have many opportunities to bake or cook now. There was a raspberry tart, steamed tofu and shrimp, Siu Mai or Chinese dumpling, and some more hidden failed experiments.

The hot summer breeze has turned into cooler air. The green color of the leaves has faded away. Summer was officially over. Looking back, I want to cherish the memory, remembering the good food and time spent with family and friends. Perhaps, a more exciting thing to do is to look forward to next year.

2 thoughts on “Summer Memoirs

Leave a Reply

