Brownie Cookies

Who doesn’t like brownie? If you don’t, you should skip this post. 🙂

Brownie is really easy to make, and can be done in less than an hour. The key is not to overmix and overbake the batter, otherwise it will be too tough. I like my brownie moist and it has that thin crust forming on top. Ahh.. I’m making myself hungry for a bite.

I have made brownie several times, but last summer I tried something different. Well, it’s not a new breakthrough, just a brownie in the form of cookies. So, that’s why it’s called brownie cookies. They are as easy to make as regular brownies. It’s just the baking part that is taking more time, but it is all worth it because it makes sharing them to some friends become easier.

The recipe I used actually calls for semisweet chocolate chips, but I am a dark chocolate fan, and that’s what I have in my inventory. I went ahead to use the dark chocolate chips, but I think it’s a little bit too bitter. I did not mind the bitterness actually, but some people may not like it. So, I will suggest to stick with the original recipe.

It is funny that I got two totally different responses from my brother’s friends who tried the cookies. One said, “So much chocolate in it. It’s so good.” And the other said, “Err… There is too much chocolate.” Of course, if I could choose I’d want anyone says the first response. But I guess people have different palate. What is good for one, is probably bad for others. It is best to know who are going to eat what you make and adjust the ingredients or the way to cook/bake accordingly.

Recipe

from pureandyummy.com

Ingredients

  • ½ cup butter
  • 4 (1 ounce) squares unsweetened chocolate, chopped
  • 3 cups (18 ounces) semisweet chocolate chips, divided (substituted with dark chocolate chips)
  • 1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 ½ cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract (omitted because I didn’t have any available at that time)

Directions

  1. Combine butter, unsweetened chocolate, and 1 ½ cups chocolate chips in a large heavy saucepan. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly until butter and chocolate melt; let the mixture cool.
  2. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl, set aside.
  3. Beat eggs, sugar and vanilla at medium speed with an electric mixer. Gradually add dry ingredients to egg mixture, beating well. Then add the chocolate mixture and beat well. Stir in remaining 1 ½ cups chocolate chips.
  4. Scoop dough onto baking sheets 1 inch apart. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. Cool slightly on baking sheets; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

Note: I just found the pictures of these brownie cookies in my hard disk, and I realized I haven’t posted them yet. I should dig my hard disk more, and who knows I’ll find other treasures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

