A brand new 2012 in the Capital City

Fast away the old year passes,

Hail the new, ye lads and lasses

Sing we joyous all together,

Heedless of the wind and the weather.

(Deck the Halls)

Image

Happy 2012, everyone!

2011 has been an incredible year: many laughs, tears, and unexpected encounters. All of them had brought me to where I am today, and thanks God for walking with me in the past year.

I was reminded about the importance of time and how temporary things are. Time is ticking, and  here we are in the year of 2012. Even the first day will end in several hours when I am writing this post. And since it’s new year, I was thinking about my new year resolution. Although I just have it in my mind, there are a lot of things I want to do and achieve this year. The most important thing is that I want to use my time more efficiently so that I won’t look back with regrets. What are your wishes and hope for 2012? Whatever they are, live your days in thanksgiving and don’t take things for granted.

I spent the new year’s eve in Jakarta this time, which is something that I had never done before. There were a lot of fireworks and firecrackers, even in small alleys in the crowded Jakarta streets. Some people traveled out of the city; some stayed in the city and went to popular recreation areas, such as Ancol Beach Park and the National Monument ‘Monas.’ The rest chose to stay at home, spending their new year’s eve with their loved ones, barbecuing and just taking things easy. I was in the last group.

I joined my aunt’s family BBQing event that night. The food was way too much, and we could not finish everything although we also got some help from the neighbors. This is my first time having homemade seafood BBQ: fish, shrimp, and squid. Notice they are in order of increasing bad cholesterol level. 😀 There were also chicken skewers ‘Sate’ (or Satay) and corns on the cobs. Everything except the corns was marinated before being grilled, and during the grilling they were brushed with some weird looking mixture. I’d say the finishing-off step had worked wonders although the mixture only consisted of margarine, sweet soy sauce, white pepper, and sometimes some hot sauce (sambal). Perhaps the extra deliciousness came from the crowds. Doesn’t food taste the best when it is shared?

Earlier that day, I also had a fellowship together with some friends I met in Taiwan. For lunch we had ‘Tumpeng’  ordered from Nyonya Hendrawan. Tumpeng is a cone-shaped yellow rice with a bunch of side dishes around it. The picture below will explain it all. Indonesians usually have it for a celebration, which is marked by cutting the top part of the cone by the most important person. The look and the taste of the Tumpeng were amazing, and my favorite side dish is the crunchy Tempe. Yum…

I really thank God for an awesome celebration this year. Hope next year will be even better 🙂

Image

Leave a Reply

