A Long Saturday (Part I)

Yesterday was probably my longest Saturday ever. I got to do a lot of things in one day, so I actually felt pretty good about it. I woke up at 5 am because I got to meet a girlfriend at 5:30 am for a walk to Harbour Bridge. The sky was still dark, and the streets were quite empty. I met my friend and asked her if she knew the way to the bridge. I knew where we should head to, but not the details. I usually check google maps if I am going to a place for the first time, but not this time. My friend apparently did not know the details either, but we figured it should be easy.

We strolled along George Street heading to Circular Quay. The cool breeze brought some fresh air while we were laughing at our idea waking up early on Saturday morning to catch the sunrise. That was what we were up to – watching sunrise from the bridge. That day sunrise was predicted to be around 6.22 am.

I am terrible with direction, and so is my friend. We asked couple of people on the exact way, but we still made some mistakes, such as taking the wrong turn. The sky had turned brighter, and we freaked out that we would not make it. We finally found the gate to the bridge with a sign saying Cahill Walk. The sun was still hiding. Phew…

The bridge can be accessed by pedestrians only on one side. The other side is used by the trains, and the middle part is for the cars. We could see the top view of the Sydney Opera House, and I imagined that’s where people took the postcard-quality picture of it . The sky got lightened up quickly, and the sun rose around the predicted time. It was my first time getting a clear view of the sunrise in Australia, at least. Whohoo…

By the end of the walk, there is Burton Street Tunnel. I saw some people preparing their stalls for the Kirribilli market. We made our u-turn here and headed home.

It was around 7 in the morning, and our stomachs were growling.ย  We decided to grab something before really heading back. Our guess that we would end up in a fast food restaurant because most cafes were not opened yet. My friend suggested checking out the MSM (My Sweet Memory) Dessert Cafe near Town Hall station. I had been curious about the cafe too, and good thing it was already opened.

The interior of the cafe was really cute. It’s a combination of a cafe and a stationery store. Although it was still early, both of us decided to get their special waffle with cinnamon and Belgian chocolate that came with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. My friend also tried their Hazelnut latte. The waffle was scrumptious, and the dark chocolate drizzle made it even better. If I was going to order their waffle again, I’d probably go for the double waffles because one is not enough. I also saw some cake slices on display, including macaroons and cheesecake. I really recommend the place for the ambiance and the food ๐Ÿ™‚ And that’s how I spent my morning on the long Saturday.

2 thoughts on “A Long Saturday (Part I)

Leave a Reply

