Agar Panna Cotta with Balsamic Strawberry Sauce

Strawberries are in season right now, so the fresh ones can be obtained easily in the markets for good price. I just love berries.. I can’t wait for summer to come, and I will be able to get other varieties affordably. Inspired by raspberri cupcakes post about roasted strawberry and ginger ricotta cheesecake, I decided to try making the roasted strawberry. Since I do not have an oven at the moment, I just heated the strawberries using non-stick pan and stove. The strawberry sauce was really good, and I didn’t know before that strawberries and balsamic vinegar were pairs made in heaven. I guess balsamic vinegar will work with other types of berries as well, and I am looking forward to trying it out.

I used the sauce for the agar panna cotta, and it was light and licking good. It’s also easy to make. The whole thing took less than 30 minutes, and I didn’t follow the exact measurement. I am pretty sure I’m not required to.  I will probably make it again this week to share it with colleagues and friends.

Agar Panna Cotta with Balsamic Strawberry Sauce

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups of coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup of sugar
  • 1 cup vanilla yogurt (I used Yoplait)
  • 2 tsp of agar-agar powder

Directions

  1. Combine agar-agar powder, coconut milk, and sugar in a medium saucepan and simmer under low heat for about 8 minutes.
  2. Whisk in yogurt until smooth.
  3. Pour into 4 individual ramekins or glasses, or anything you have.
  4. Refrigerate for several hours or overnight.

For the strawberry sauce, you need:

1 punnet (250 g) of strawberries

1.5 tbp of sugar

1 tbp of balsamic vinegar

Hull and slice the strawberries into halves. Toss with sugar and balsamic vinegar. Heat over medium heat for 15 minutes. Remove from heat and cool it down. Serve it on the top of the panna cotta.

Leave a Reply

