Brown Butter Muesli Cookies

I haven’t made cookies in ages. When I saw the brown butter and sea salt chocolate cookies recipe by Ambitious Kitchen, I couldn’t wait to try it out. Brown butter sounds awesome, and with cookies, it sounds even better. I also have some vanilla beans I bought online. So, instead of using vanilla extract as what the recipe calls for, I decided to use a pod of vanilla bean. Honestly, I had never EVER used vanilla beans before. I held the knife clumsily to scrape out the seeds. At that point, I was not even sure if the vanilla beans I bought were of good quality because the smell was not strong, or maybe my sense of smell is just bad. Or, I was just being overwhelmed with my first experiment with the real vanilla bean.

To make the cookies healthier, I mixed in some muesli, and that way the cookies would be my perfect breakfast.. with a glass of milk, of course.

Brown butter muesli cookies – perfect for breakfast or snacking

I also attempted taking step-by-step pictures while making them. So, here they are… There is nothing complicated about making these cookies. The only tricky part is browning the butter. Just make sure, you remove the butter immediately from heat once you spot some browned milk solids. If you leave it a bit longer, you’ll have burnt butter, and you really don’t want that for your breakfast, do you?

The ingredients

Browning the butter

Blending in the vanilla seeds

Mixing the ingredients

Brown Butter Muesli Cookies

Adapted from Ambitious Kitchen

Recipe:

  • 2 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 220 g unsalted butter (about 2 sticks of US butter)
  • 1 1/4 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/8 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg plus 1 egg yolk
  • 1 pod of vanilla bean or 2 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 2 cups of muesli (I used Carman’s Kitchen Bircher Muesli)
  • 1/2 cup of chocolate chips or more (I used chopped dark chocolate bar)

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 C (350 F).
  2. Whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl and set aside.
  3. Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat. The butter will begin to foam. Whisk consistently during this process. After a couple of minutes, the butter will begin to brown on the bottom  of the saucepan. Continue to whisk and remove from heat as soon as the butter begins to brown and give off a nutty aroma.
  4. Scrape out the seeds from the vanilla bean and throw them (including the pod if you like to) into the pot. Let the butter sit for 15-20 minutes  and sift the butter mixture. Skip this step if you don’t have vanilla bean. Simply set aside to cool the brown butter.
  5. With an electric mixer or a whisk, mix the butter and sugars until thoroughly blended. Beat in the egg, yolk, and vanilla extract if you are using it until combined. Add the dry ingredients slowly and mix until combined. Stir in the muesli and chocolate chips.
  6. Chill your dough for 2 hours in the refrigerator, or place in freezer for 30 minutes. (I opted for the later because I couldn’t wait to bake the cookies).
  7. Once dough is chilled, using a spoon scoop the cookie dough and form into a ball.
  8. Place balls on cookie sheet and bake for about 11 minutes or until the edges of the cookies begin to turn golden brown.

Crispy in the edges and chewy in the middle

Leave a Reply

