Blueberry (flavor) and Cream Cookies

Several days ago, I went shopping in a supermarket. The aisle was kind of narrow, and my eyes were everywhere, looking at the stuff at the shelves. My brain was working hard, processing the information received: good deal or not? I was walking slowly to make sure I didn’t miss a thing.

‘Hey!’ said someone behind me. Oops! He must be in a hurry, I thought. So, I moved my body to the side of the aisle, so he could pass. He did, and I thought that was the end of the story. But, it wasn’t.

‘@#$,’ he swore. I was shocked. I did feel bad for walking so slowly that I blocked the path. I got my excuse: I was in the middle of leisure shopping in the quest for worthy items of buying. What’s wrong with him? I don’t deserve some bad words. He turned back to see how I responded. I didn’t know what to do, and like most of the time, I just pretended not to hear anything. Probably it was a bad day for him.

I actually forgot what I encountered until I talked to a friend. I felt that I was right, and I had done the best possible act I could think of – to ignore the person. But then, I was rebuked. Is it the best thing you can do?

I think so. After all, he didn’t deserve anything better. He should be grateful that I didn’t swear or talk back to him. 

How about a smile instead? Then, say you are sorry, and wish him a nice day. Don’t you think that will be much better?

Why didn’t I think of that before? That short incident reminded me of my shortcomings. Many times I thought I already did my best. but I obviously still have a long way to go – to be humble and to be caring. I do think sometimes I need to step out of my comfort zone to do this kind of stuff, but if it can be a blessing for others, then it’s definitely worth it. Most of all, I am grateful for thoughtful friends who always support me, but never hesitate to point out what is lacking.

Moving to the recipe, the blueberry and cream cookies recipe is from Cristina Tosi, the chef at Momofuku Milk Bar. I have never tried anything from Tosi, and I would love to if I have a chance (Someone, take me to NY!) . This is my first time attempting her recipe. There are more steps in making the cookies, and some of the ingredients are quite unusual (dried blueberry, glucose, and milk powder). That was probably why it took me several days to make them because every time I found out that i didn’t have everything ready. I couldn’t find dried blueberry in the regular supermarket, so I opted for blueberry-flavored craisins. I doubled the recipe because I thought 17 cookies were not that many. But my oven was small, and I could only bake a tray of cookies at a time. Soon I regretted my decision of doubling the recipe because I had to spent more than an hour to get the baking done. Plus, a pack of 170-g craisins wasn’t enough for two recipes. If I were to make it again, I would definitely put more fruit in it. I also made another mistake because I only made half of the milk crumb recipe for double cookie recipes. At the end, all the hard work was paid off. I had sweet, chewy cookies that were meant to be shared be others. Because sharing is caring 🙂

Blueberry and Cream Cookies

Blueberry and Cream Cookies

Blueberry and Cream Cookies

Recipe from Momofuku Milk Bar Cookbook

Yields 12 – 17 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 225 g (16 tbs) butter, at room temperature
  • 150 g (3/4 cup) granulated sugar
  • 150 g (2/3 cup) light brown sugar
  • 100 g (1/4 cup) glucose
  • 2 eggs
  • 320 g (2 cups) flour
  • 2 g (1/2 tsp) baking powder
  • 1.5 g (1/4 tsp) baking soda
  • 6 g (1 1/2 tsp) kosher salt
  • 1/2 recipe Milk Crumbs (See below)
  • 130 g (3/4 cup) dried blueberries

Directions

  1.  Combine the butter, sugars, and glucose in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment and cream on medium-high for 2-3 minutes. Scrape down the sides of the bowl, add the eggs, and beat for 7 to 8 minutes.
  2. Reduce the mixer speed to low and add the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Mix just until the dough comes together, no longer than 1 minute. (Do not walk away from the machine during this step, or you will risk over mixing the dough.) Scrape down the sides of the bowl with a spatula.
  3.  Still on low speed, add the milk crumbs and mix until they’re incorporated, no more than 30 seconds. chase the milk crumbs with the dried blueberries, mixing them in for 30 seconds.
  4. Using a 2 3/4 oz ice cream scoop (or a 1/3 cup measure), portion out the dough onto a parchment-lined sheet pan. Pat the tops of the cookie dough domes flat. Wrap the sheet pan tightly in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 1 hour, or up to 1 week. Do not bake your cookies from room temperature—they will not bake properly.
  5. Heat the oven to 350°F.
  6. Arrange the chilled dough a minimum of 4 inches apart on parchment- or Silpat-lined sheet pans. Bake for 18 minutes. The cookies will puff, crackle, and spread. After 18 minutes, they should be very faintly browned on the edges yet still bright yellow in the center; give them an extra minute or so if that’s not the case.
  7. Cool the cookies completely on the sheet pans before transferring to a plate or to an airtight container for storage. At room temp, the cookies will keep fresh for 5 days; in the freezer, they will keep for 1 month.
  8. Blueberry and cream cookies

Milk Crumbs

makes about 250 grams (2 ¼ cups)

Ingredients

  • 40 g (1/2 cup) milk powder
  • 40 g (1/4 cup) flour
  • 12 g (2 tbs) cornstarch
  • 25 g (2 tbs) sugar
  • 2 g (1/2 tsp) kosher salt
  • 55 g (4 tbs) butter, melted
  • 20 g (1/4 cup) milk powder
  • 90 g (3 oz) white chocolate, melted

Directions

  1. Heat the oven to 250°F.
  2. Combine the 40 g (½ cup) milk powder, the flour, cornstarch, sugar, and salt in a medium bowl. Toss with your hands to mix. Add the melted butter and toss, using a spatula, until the mixture starts to come together and form small clusters.
  3. Spread the clusters on a parchment- or Silpat-lined sheet pan and bake for 20 minutes. The crumbs should be sandy at that point, and your kitchen should smell like buttery heaven. cool the crumbs completely.
  4. Crumble any milk crumb clusters that are larger than ½ inch in diameter, and put the crumbs in a medium bowl. Add the 20 g (¼ cup) milk powder and toss together until it is evenly distributed throughout the mixture.
  5. Pour the white chocolate over the crumbs and toss until your clusters are enrobed. Then continue tossing them every 5 minutes until the white chocolate hardens and the clusters are no longer sticky. The crumbs will keep in an airtight container in the fridge or freezer for up to 1 month.

    Milk crumbs before coated with white chocolate

    Milk crumbs before coated with white chocolate

Leave a Reply

