Kepos Street Kitchen

Rain or shine, I decided that I would go to Kepos St Kitchen today. I confessed that my determination was shaken a little bit after looking out the window. It rained.

There is something about rain that I always associate with idleness. It makes me want to snuggle under a blanket and do nothing. I may have a plan from the day before but rain usually stops me from stepping outside. I wonder if people are capricious like me. To do or not to do is solely decided based on how the weather is like.

Many times though I regretted not going out because of the rain. There are different views around that only exist when it is raining: water puddles on the streets, people sharing umbrellas, and sometimes the sound of pouring rain covering up the buzzing traffic.

I am glad that this time I made a different choice.

After getting off from the bus, I could see the place was quite packed. I guess there are still a lot of people out there with greater determination. The motivation may come from precious opportunities to meet up with loved ones, or hearty breakfast with warm coffee or tea, or the combination of the two.

Right away I ordered what I had always wanted to try out: soft baked eggs with tomato shakshuka. It  also came with coriander tahini and a slice of toasted sourdough. I loved every bit of it. I also ordered ‘Grey Goddess’ tea, and it went well with the dish.

Soft Baked Eggs with Tomato Shaksuka

Soft Baked Eggs with Tomato Shaksuka

Grey Goddess tea: I fancy the teapot and cup

Grey Goddess tea: I fancy the cup

After finishing up my meal, I walked to the bus station. I saw wet, fallen leaves on my way – a sign of dormancy. But it does not mean the trees are not doing anything. They are conserving up energy for later growth. I can see the beauty in resting.

Truly my soul finds rest in God;
my salvation comes from him.

Psalm 62:1

Tree Leaf

Leave a Reply

