Japan 祭り in Sydney

I saw the ads in the train station that there would be Japan Matsuri (festival) on Saturday at Tumbalong Park, Darling Harbour. I haven’t  been on top of any events lately, so I assured myself to go. The weather permitted. It was drizzling a little bit, but the sun didn’t shy away and the sky quickly cleared up.

For afar, I could see the crowds.. and it did feel like summer. I still have some difficulties orienting myself that December will be summery in the southern hemisphere. I spotted women and kids wearing yukata (light kimono for summer). Aah.. I have always wanted to wear one myself, but I haven’t got a chance myself.

Lining up for Yukata Competition

Lining up for Yukata Competition

Traditional clothing for sale

Traditional clothing for sale

I was anticipating yakisoba and takoyaki being sold in the stalls, and perhaps there would be a goldfishing game using paper net scooper. I was not disappointed. I saw some kids were busy scooping rubber gold fish using the scooper, just exactly like what I saw from animes and Japanese dramas. I heard that they could bring the goldfish home. I’d imagine the rubber goldfish would make the most convenient pet ever, albeit less fun.

Gold fishing

Gold fishing

Bleach cosplay with Ichigo and Kon <3

Bleach cosplay with Ichigo and Kon ❤

Kawaii crane earrings

Kawaii crane earrings

Time for food! I was indecisive on what to get, but I thought I wouldn’t go for sushi because it just seemed to be out of the matsuri’s theme. The yakisoba looked great, yet I ended up with squid and octopus cake (something like fish cake on the stick). Yes, I am the type who likes to try something new. But then, it was clearly inadequate to be considered as lunch. I needed something more solid. Later I passed by a stall with BBQ squid and rice. The picture made me drool. However, I resisted the temptation because otherwise it would be too much squid (read: cholesterol) for the day. There was a curry stall selling curry rice that came with a lunch bag gift. I was more interested in the gift than the food, so I bade it goodbye (Sayonara~). The last stall was the sushi stall with a long line. I went closer, and apparently they only sold a selection of nigiri sushi. One plate consisted of 6 pieces of nigiri sushi and one tamagoyaki (egg omelette). A posted sign clearly mentioned ‘No Alternatives; No Special Requests,’ so no fussy eaters! When I saw some people walk away with their orders, and the sushi looked amazing. I could no longer say ‘No.’

Squid and octopus cake

Squid and octopus cake

Queues

Queues

It was kind of hard to really enjoy it since it was quite windy and empty benches were scarce. I decided to devour everything quickly as I was afraid the hot temperature would ruin the sushi. Still I enjoyed every piece. My favorites were the ocean trout and eel, if I had to choose, and the tamagoyaki as the finale was great. I would definitely like to try more in better settings.

The sushi chefs

The sushi chefs

Edomae Sushi  From right to left: Kohada herring, Emperador, Big Eye Tuna, Bar Cod, Ocean Trout, Anago Conger Eel, and Tamagoyaki

Edomae Sushi
From right to left: Kohada herring, Emperador, Big Eye Tuna, Bar Cod, Ocean Trout, Anago Conger Eel, and Tamagoyaki

The matsuri was overall fun, and would be more fun if I went with some companions. Maybe it will be something do for next year 😀

Leave a Reply

