Matchamisu

It’s Christmas! The joyful season never fails to make feeling warm and fuzzy although it had been quite hot lately in Sydney (Hello Summer!). This year’s Christmas Eve I got to do my first-ever caroling, and I was so blessed that I could celebrate it with my church family. It was almost like New Year’s Eve because I stayed up until 1.30 am.

I thought I should make something for Christmas. Having seen several tiramisu recipes lately, I felt motivated to make one myself. I was failed making it once, mainly because the lack of proper ingredients. But this time, I got a feeling it would work. To make it different, I changed the espresso with matcha, so I think it should be called matchamisu. I guess I was not too generous with the amount of matcha I put in. The final result did not have the intense matcha flavor that I was looking for. It nonetheless still pleased the palate of every person who tried it.

Maybe next time I’ll replace the lady finger cookies with matcha sponge cake. Anyway,

Merry CHRIST-mas!

The ingredients

The ingredients

Soaked lady fingers

Soaked lady fingers

The final product

The final product

The cross section (sorry for the messy picture!)

Matchamisu

Recipe from Cooking with dog

Ingredients

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 100 g granulated sugar
  • 250 g mascarpone cheese at room temperature
  • 300 mL heavy cream
  • 8 oz lady fingers
  • 200 mL unsweetened matcha
  • Cake pan 13″x 7″ x 2″ (which was a bit too big for this recipe)
  • Matcha powder for dusting

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, beat egg yolks and sugar until pale . (I did this while putting the bowl in warm water in case the eggs were not pasteurized)
  2. Add the mascarpone and beat until smooth.
  3. In another bowl, whip the cream until soft peak.
  4. Add half of the cream into the egg mixture and mix thoroughly. Add the rest of the cream and mix until uniform.
  5. Dip the lady finger in the matcha for a second and transfer into the pan.
  6. Repeat until the pan base is covered with a layer of lady finger.
  7. Top the lady finger layer with the 1/2 of cream mixture.
  8. Dust with matcha powder
  9. Repeat the layers for another time.
  10. Refrigerate for at least two hours, and before serving dust with matcha powder and icing sugar to make some patterns.
Leave a Reply

