La Perouse

WOW… It’s already 2014. I still need to stop for a second to make myself belief that I should type that 4 instead of 3. I have not really sat down to ponder what my resolutions should be this year, but I know what I did not get to finish last year. So, those will be automatically carried over to this year. I can be a bit pessimistic, sometimes. What’s the use of thinking about resolutions if at the end we will fail, anyway? Just look at a fitness gym that is crowded in the first few weeks of the year, and then it dies out after that. It really does not take long to quit because that’s the direction of the gravity.

But I’ll encourage having your resolutions (and mine) down. It is good to know what we are lacking, and to continuously challenge ourselves to be better. It is also to let some closest people know about the your resolutions so that they can check on you from time to time. Having said that, I’d do mine ASAP.

I finally visited La Perouse in the beginning of this year. It was a sunny, hot day, and the streets were still quite empty. From the CBD to La Perouse, it took about 45 minutes by bus. When I got there, I did not press the STOP button because I thought that the bus would stop because it was its last. Wrong.. The bus driver automatically turned and almost took me back to the city because she did not realize I was there. (Maybe one of my resolutions will be to make myself more visible to others?) Good thing, I shouted ‘Stop, please’ immediately.

2014-01-02 08.08.24 2014-01-02 08.16.00 2014-01-02 08.22.49 2014-01-02 08.25.06 2014-01-02 08.26.58 2014-01-02 08.30.04 2014-01-02 08.34.45 2014-01-02 08.40.49 2014-01-02 08.43.25 2014-01-02 08.47.09

There were not many people around, so I could take time to relax and enjoy the view. I spotted a beach, and some people fishing. Then I walked crossing the bridge to Bare Island, which used to be a military fort and now open for a guided tour. I saw some steps down from the bridge, so I walked down around the island a little bit. Carefully stepping on the rocks to avoid being wet, I was subsequently laughed at by a passing scuba diver. I gave up. Brrrr…. it’s cold but refreshing at the same time. I love the sound of the water hitting the rocks and the view of little flowers spreading out in the field;. It reminds of the passage in the Bible where it mentions that God takes care of every little creation, including us. (Matthew 6: 25-34)

May 2014 be a great year for all of you! May it be a year of more giving and loving. 🙂

Leave a Reply

